HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Koa Talk (Read 20145 times)
oglavyandtuglavy

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Koa Talk
Aug 9th, 2003 at 1:00pm

First I want to say that I'm new to ukes and I find Hana Lima and the forum to be very helpful.  

Regarding the construction of a koa uke, has anyone built a uke made of koa (top, back and sides) with a honduran mahogany neck and ebony fretboard?  The reason why I ask is that I have an all mahogany uke and an all koa uke and they look great.  It seems difficult to find koa neck blanks.  Since honduran mahogany is highly recommended for the neck I'm just wondering if it was used with an all koa soundbox would it look mismatched?  Would you need to alter the color to make it more uniform?  Also, if koa IS available for necks and fretboards is it recommended or should I stick with more traditional woods for these parts?  I appreciate your help!

Nick

IP Logged

grasshopper

Mililani, Hawaii
Re: Koa Talk
Reply #1 - Aug 9th, 2003 at 2:40pm

Hey Nick,

I believe that whichever you choose would be just fine and I think it is a matter of personal preference.  A koa neck or a mahogany neck would work just fine.  The looks are all up to you and since you plan on an ebony fretboard, then having a koa neck doesn't seem to be all that important either.  Mahogany is also a little easier to work with in shaping the heel too.  There are a lot of guys with koa so if you really wanted to get a koa neck, I don't think that it would be a problem.  Check out http://ukulelesupply.tripod.com/. ; I don't think Norman usually sells or stocks koa neck blanks, but I know he had a lot of koa and you may be able to get him to cut you a blank if he has some left over stock.  But like I said before, a mahogany neck with a koa body would be just fine and would be a personal preference on what you like to see.  (And yes, I have built both and either one works for me.)

Later,
Vince (grasshopper)

IP Logged

oglavyandtuglavy