HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Fret saws and fret boards (Read 4659 times)
hapakid
Junior Uke

I love island music!

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Fret saws and fret boards
Nov 23rd, 2003 at 7:34pm

I'm new to uke building and I'm working on a basic mahogany kit from Hanalima. Although I have some luthier and ukulele books, I'd like to confirm the proper size of fret saw to use with the fret wire in the kit. The books say .022-.025" set is proper, but I don't want to blow $20 at stewmac only to find out later that it's the wrong size.
Also, I'm wondering if anyone has stained tried to stain a rosewood fretboard to make it a little darker than the surrounding mahogany. Any ideas? Thanks!
Jesse Tinsley

IP Logged

John_Mayes

Re: Fret saws and fret boards
Reply #1 - Nov 24th, 2003 at 6:37am

I'm not familiar with your kit but the fret tang should be slightly (very slightly) larger than the slot.  So if the slot is .022 the a .023-.025 tang with should be jim dandy.  I used a pre-sawn fretboard from Asa not too long ago and the fret wire he supplied was a great fit.  And yes people have been staining fretboards for wuite some time.  It has to be a very penetrating type of stain to do the job right.  If not then the black will wear off and you'll be left with a freaky looking board.  Go to www.stewmac.com and they sell a stain that is made just for that purpose.

Cheers,

John

IP Logged

achock
Big Uke

Hanalima.com forever!

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reply #2 - Nov 26th, 2003 at 9:51am

Hi Hapakid,
Sorry about the delay in response here,  Thank you for looking out John!  Smiley

These are the dimensions of the fretwire included in our kits:
We use a blade with a .022" kerf and the fit is nice and snug.  Those barbs extend out quite a bit from the tang, and really dig into the fretslot.  We also use a little glue when fretting just to be safe.  The specific wire we are using is #147 also from Stewart Macdonald.

-Asa