HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Gluing neck, mounting fretboard (Read 3613 times)
hapakid
Junior Uke

I love island music!

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Gluing neck, mounting fretboard
May 5th, 2004 at 9:42am

A question for those of you who don't build with a spanish heel:
Do you attach the neck, then glue on the fretboard, or do you glue the fretboard to the neck and put them on together. Also, do you put the neck on before putting on the back?
Also, how thick should the fretboard be?
I'm new to building neck/soundbox separately, and the first one I built didn't have good action because of the neck angle. Perhaps I'm missing something...
Jesse Tinsley.....

IP Logged

MattsUkes

too many ideas, too little
time

Kula, HI
Re: Gluing neck, mounting fretboard
Reply #1 - May 5th, 2004 at 11:11am

Hi jesse,
   I've built a couple ukes with seperate soundbox and neck.   If you connect the neck before attaching the fingerboard, you have the opportunity to surface the neck after it is attached to the body to get the neck angle just where you want it.

The downside is that you need to do a carefull job at matching the width of the fingerboard to that of the neck.   If the fingerboard is too wide, and you try trim it to the neck, you end up with the section of the fingerboard over the body that is wider than the neck.

So, I usually attach the fingerboard to the neck first, shape these, then attach to the body.

IP Logged

RCHawaii
Big Uke

Malama Pono Ukelele !!

Ewa
Reply #2 - May 5th, 2004 at 4:37pm

I am attaching the fingerboard last-but I'm new to this Cheesy

I build the body and neck, shape the neck, attach the neck, then shape the fingerboard to the neck.

As far as thickness, I'm not totally sure if there is a standard. As long as your action is good, you have a nut with the right height and saddle to match I could be wrong..

Thanks Hana Lima 'Ia and Asa!
WWW RadioControlUSA  
IP Logged

Dominator
Junior Uke

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!