HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Cutaway spanish heel design (Read 3655 times)
rogercarter

Leeds, United Kingdom
Cutaway spanish heel design
Jul 11th, 2004 at 7:51am

Hi,

I have got the idea of the spanish heel construction from the shop tips on the site. My question is, how do you make a single cutaway uke with spanish heel? Where do you cut the slot on the cutaway side of the heel? Or do you have to use another method to join the neck to body.

Thanks, Roger.

Roger Carter&&roger@roger-carter.co.uk
IP Logged

hapakid
Junior Uke

I love island music!

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Re: Cutaway spanish heel design
Reply #1 - Jul 11th, 2004 at 3:19pm

Hi Roger,
I'm just a beginner, but I've built two spanish heel cutaways which I cobbled together. On both of them, I left the cutaway side flat, not tapered down to the heel cap, and than brought the cutaway side up and glued it flat against the side of the heel. 
Here's a photo during building:
The uke in the photo isn't all that pretty, but like all my ukes, it was a good learning process.
Jesse Tinsley

IP Logged

Roger Carter

Reply #2 - Jul 11th, 2004 at 10:21pm

Jesse,

That's a really useful picture. I had guessed i need to do something like that but couldn't visualise how it would look.

Roger

IP Logged

Ukeman

Reply #3 - Jul 12th, 2004 at 2:47pm

aloha roger: