Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Ukulele finishes (Read 4429 times)
Jerry_Maksymyk

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Ukulele finishes
Jul 26th, 2004 at 3:40am

Hello from Canada everyone  Smiley

I've been enjoying your forum for a while and decided it was time to participate. There's some wonderful advice here.
I'm an amateur builder having built seven mountain dulcimers. I've just ordered a set of Kasha tenor plans from here and am very excited to try and build a mahogany uke from those plans.
I know you've talked about finishes before, so I apologize if this is is redundent.
I'd prefer not to use lacquer to finish my uke. I just used Tru oil for the first time on my last dulcimer which was bird's eye maple. It looked great but the sound wasn't as bright as I thought it might be.
Is Tru oil an accepted finish for ukulele's? Will it "hurt" the sound at all? Any advice as to other alternatives that you would suggest?
I'd appreciate your advice very much.

Thanks
Jerry

IP Logged

John_Mayes

Re: Ukulele finishes
Reply #1 - Jul 26th, 2004 at 4:36am

Tru oil would be fine.  You can actually build up multiple layers and then buff it out to a nice high gloss.  Other alternatives would be a water based finish like what Stewart Mcdonald ( called color tone) and LMI sells (called KTM4 or something.)  It is brushable and looks great.

IP Logged

RCHawaii
Big Uke

Malama Pono Ukelele !!

Ewa
Reply #2 - Aug 1st, 2004 at 1:48am

Mahaloz braddas ran across this Instructional site on French Polishing, copy it and bookmark it, it's a priceless resource!

http://www.milburnguitars.com/fpbannerframes.html

Thanks Hana Lima 'Ia and Asa!
WWW RadioControlUSA  
IP Logged

ukulady

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Reply #3 - Oct 18th, 2004 at 8:45pm

Thank you RC for the link for French Polishing!!!  Toni  Cheesy

IP Logged

msrvfx

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Portland, Oregon
Reply #4 - Jan 21st, 2005 at 7:22pm

Cheesy