Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
help me!!! (Read 1380 times)
michaeld1187

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

help me!!!
Jan 24th, 2005 at 12:41pm

ok heres the deal,

i started playing guitar, picked up the uku about  a year ago, then i found this website and i ordered some geared tuners and a nut and saddle or whatever, and some strings and im having trouble getting the C and E strings tuned. even with a tuner im still having trouble, i can get all the strings tune but the c and e seem to maybe be an octave lower and i tried tuning higher but it gets too tight before i get there and i feel like its gonna snap. so i was thinking maybe i got the strings mixed when i took them out and i tried switching them and still the same problem. i even tried to tune to a piano  and everything.

then anystring that i put where the E is supose to be it buzzes and i cant tell where its coming from.

please help i need the uku for a performance this sunday and i gotta have it figured out before so i can practice.

IP Logged

michaeld1187

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Re: help me!!!
Reply #1 - Jan 24th, 2005 at 1:02pm

ok so i finally got it tuned whew.....and i figured out that the reason my string is buzzing is because the groove in the nut is too big, now my dilema is that i dont know how to make the groove smaller..... help lol  please.

IP Logged

1four5
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Jan 25th, 2005 at 12:12am

I'm not a luthier, yet I read this board with interest. I have done some very shade tree, yet very effective mechanics to my beat up old guitars and ukes. I went too far when filing the grooves in my classical guitar nut, yep and got too low and had some buzzing. As a temp fix (thinking I would pick up a new nut blank eventually) I filled the grooves with 5 minute epoxy. Gave it about 30 minutes to make sure it was good and hard, then refiled the grooves. Problem solved, plays perfectly, no more buzzing. That was over a year ago, and I still haven't replaced the nut. Smiley

IP Logged