HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Aloha from Tucson, AZ! (Read 4707 times)
Gary_Pak

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Aloha from Tucson, AZ!
Nov 21st, 2005 at 1:02pm

Hi everyone!
   Brand new to the group( as of about 15 min. ago), and almost as new to the art of building a uke.   I have been intrested in the sounds of the islands and especially the uke for many years. My passion is woodworking.  I work as a trim carpenter and have done many custom projects including a 18" telescope (my other passion is astronomy). I also know how informative user groups can be when adding to your list of passions.

Which brings me to my question(s).

My wife and I are coming to Maui this Thursday (Thankgiving) and will be staying a week. Can you recomend any shops or individuals that I can contact to learn as much as I can in my short stay?

Mannnnnnnnnny years ago I played some guitar and really enjoyed the 12 string for the rich and full sound it maid. Because of this I'm drawn to an 8 string tenor uke. Is it harder to build/learn/tune to play?

ANY comments woud be greatly appreciated,

Mahalo
Gary

IP Logged

Dominator
Junior Uke

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Re: Aloha from Tucson, AZ!
Reply #1 - Nov 23rd, 2005 at 6:20pm

Aloha Gary,
Hopefully, you can check this from Hawaii since you are probably already on your way.

Stop and see Ken Potts of KP Ukulele.
He is in Lahaina, Maui.  His phone number is
808-667-0759.  His ukes are not inexpensive but they are no doubt worth every penny you will spend.
Good luck,
Dominator
http://www.ukeland.com/dominator/
Your source for a wide variety of ukulele tabs

IP Logged

Road_Toad

Eh brah, da buggah flat!

Kalyfoonya
Reply #2 - Nov 23rd, 2005 at 8:19pm