HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
From tree to tonewood (Read 9931 times)
bkunio

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

From tree to tonewood
Jan 10th, 2006 at 7:00am

Hi all.  I'm new to this forum and excited to take part (learn).  I'm a woodworker of sorts and have been more than interested in making ukuleles for fun (for me, friends and family).  I'm on the Big Island so have access to quite a bit of wood for my needs (mango, koa, pines, etc.).

My question has to do with how large, in diameter, does the heartwood have to be in order to make a soundboard or back of say, a tenor ukulele?  I'm reading in MIMForum (http://www.mimf.com) that most soundboards or backs are quartersawn.  If the back or front is made of two 6-inch wide pieces, does that mean the heartwood should be at least 12 inches?

Or, can I use flatsawn wood?  Also, how thick/thin should I resaw for drying?

Is there anything out there that shows a diagram of a log section of whatever diameter and how it could be efficiently cut for building ukes?

Thanks,

Bruce

IP Logged

konacat
Big Uke

The only thing worse than
my playing is my singing

Re: From tree to tonewood
Reply #1 - Jan 11th, 2006 at 9:13am

Quatersawn is the way to go. Most of the builder’s books match their tops and backs. That means you make two cuts resulting in two halves of a back or top. Take the two pieces in the same orientation as they were cut and then open one side or the other and lay them flat. The result is close to a mirror image on both halves. That is book matched. Using your figures, you would only need a six inch slab to cut from unless you wanted a one piece top and then of course your cut would be 12 inches. As far as the thickness for drying, I would think you would want at least 3/16ths maybe a tad more to allow for drying and sanding to appropriate working thickness. I am sure the more experienced forum members will help out here.

IP Logged

Murray

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Los Angeles