Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
What about Oak? (Read 1295 times)
Bud
Ex Member

What about Oak?
Apr 20th, 2006 at 12:13pm

Hi Everyone,

Just curious, I havent heard anyone talk about using oak for ukuleles?
Is it too dense?
Not bendable?
Just wondering.. thanks for any input...

Bud

IP Logged

konacat
Big Uke

The only thing worse than
my playing is my singing

Re: What about Oak?
Reply #1 - Apr 20th, 2006 at 2:50pm

I have no direct knowledge about using oak on ukuleles but can pass on what others on a guitar luthiers forum say. Easy to bend and needs extra attention filling as it is very porous. They also added to be sure to use quarter sawn wood as flat can be a bit too floppy (at least on guitars). Martin even made some oak guitars as they liked it but don’t use it now. The consensus seems to be that the public is not too thrilled about buying instruments made of such a common wood. There were several who said the instruments sounded good. One bit of advice was to add some color to the finish.  Like maybe the darker amber shellac to give it a golden hue..

Good Luck

Philip

IP Logged

Bud
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Apr 22nd, 2006 at 1:33pm

Thanks Philip,

Ill keep that in mind... just was curious.. you more than answered my question... I appreciate it.. Gracias....

Bud

IP Logged

rcelley
Junior Uke

Because I like to say,
"tricky wicky wacky woo."

central minnesota, USA
Reply #3 - May 9th, 2006 at 4:32am