HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Band Saw Blades? (Read 2253 times)
Bud
Ex Member

Band Saw Blades?
Jul 13th, 2006 at 2:15pm

I was wondering what is recommended in the way of bandsaw blades for Uke building?

I know there are basically 3 types of tooth shape,
Hook, Raker, and Skip....
Which should be preferred with the type of cutting we would be doing with Mahogany and other hard woods?
I know it probably depends on what type of cutting a person is doing... but Im new to the woodworking game and I dont have a clue as to the right application for the blades.... If anyone has time to give a bit of input Id appreciate it..
Thanks in advance....

Bud

IP Logged

Road_Toad

Eh brah, da buggah flat!

Kalyfoonya
Re: Band Saw Blades?
Reply #1 - Jul 13th, 2006 at 8:44pm

If you're doing resawing, Highland Hardware's Wood Slicer blades work great.

http://www.highlandwoodworking.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=1293

Thin kerf, so you don't waste much wood. Keep them clean and you'll be able to cut a lot of sets. Once you notice that the blade is starting to wander a bit as it dulls, replace it immediately since chances are that the piece of wood you're cutting is more expensive than the blade! I've used both the 1/2" & 3/4" versions. I prefer the 3/4" for resawing since I can crank the tension a little more, but the 1/2" is more versatile.

IP Logged

Bud
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Jul 14th, 2006 at 3:08pm

Thanks Road_Toad,

I will definately check out that blade.... I was thinking more of what would be good for a general blade... for cutting the soundboard, back and such.....
Should the blade have lots of teeth or hardly any?

Should it be a raker style blade or a hook?

1/4" or 3/8"?

I have a 14" Grizzly bandsaw with a 3/8" blade, Im not sure weither its a hook style or raker, but I would like to know what to get for future use...

As far as resawing goes, Ill be checking into your recommendation thats for sure...

Bud

IP Logged