HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Question about neck scarf joint cutting (Read 9467 times)
Jeff B
Junior Uke

Aloha!

Amelia, OH (near Cincinnati)
Re: Question about neck scarf joint cutting
Reply #15 - Jan 28th, 2008 at 9:28am

Nifty! That arrangement would solve my problem of having neck blanks of different thicknesses, as well.

I must say that your jig looks to be built strongly enough that it could also support an 18 wheeler!! Grin

Mahalo!

Jeff

IP Logged

Don_Orgeman
Big Uke

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Minnesota
Reply #16 - Jan 29th, 2008 at 3:42am

Jeff:

Part of the reason for the double MDF layer is to get over the raised pivot on the back of the saw, but the real reason is I'm an engineer and prone to overbuild.  I hate having a tool/jig flex or bend and not giving me the results I'm looking for.  Also, I tend to use what I have available in the shop resulting in a 4X4 fence.

Don

IP Logged

Jeff B
Junior Uke

Aloha!

Amelia, OH (near Cincinnati)
Reply #17 - Jan 29th, 2008 at 4:48am

Ha! I understand.

I've become a scrounger, as well, when it comes to making jigs. I also have a habit of saving every little scrap of wood I can. I always see a possibility in it for something, sometime. And after years of doing remodling work on our house I have a LOT of scraps in all different shapes, sizes, and types of wood. The problem is that I haven't taken the time to organize it so it is scattered all over the place in various containers - or not...

Grin

Jeff

IP Logged

Acabooe
Big Uke

Nanakuil Hawai'i
Reply #18 - Mar 6th, 2008 at 7:31am

Ok everyone, here is what I did.

I have a table saw... well sort of, it is in really bad working shape, so using that was not an option.
I wanted to see what I could do with my japanese pull saw.
I made the line with a pencil an straight edge, then I clamped the wood down and began to saw.

Things didn't go as I had hoped that they would.
The joint looked absolutely horrible.
I needed to clean it up a bit.