HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
What finish for fretboard? (Read 4204 times)
mblue
Junior Uke

Ukulele Lover!

What finish for fretboard?
Jul 4th, 2009 at 7:35am

I am trying to decide how to finish a new fret/fingerboard.
The Manual says, on page 101, "The fingerboard does not get any Tru-Oil finish".
And, on page 113, it says "use a drop of fingerboard oil on each fret space".
I found "Dunlop Fretboard 65 Ultimate Lemon Oil" at the Guitar Center, so I am guessing that this the type of fingerboard oil that The Manual is referring to.
How does the Tru-Oil finish differ from the Lemon Oil finish?
Any information and/or advice related to fretboard finishing/finishes would be greatly appreciated.

IP Logged

dochughes

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Re: What finish for fretboard?
Reply #1 - Jul 4th, 2009 at 12:04pm

I'm no expert - and have limited experience - but I can tell you what I used on a couple of fretboards with good results.

I used ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil purchased from LMI.  I applied it before putting the frets on.  It appears to penetrate the wood and dries within a few minutes.  While it does leave a nice "glow" to the wood, it doesn't leave any sort of gloss, and there is no buildup of finish.  

It's worked well for me, and unless I read somewhere about something better, I'll probably continue using it.

But it sounds like the stuff you got would work.  You can't go wrong with anything with "ultimate" in the name, right?

IP Logged

unkabob
Big Uke

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Reply #2 - Jul 4th, 2009 at 4:26pm

I use two coats of Danish oil. It soaks in and leaves nothing on the surface. It improves the grain of the wood and I believe that it seals the pores of the wood. That may prevent hand-oil and dirt from getting into the wood. I expect that the oil that you have does the same thing.

Bob

IP Logged

Matt Blacka
Junior Uke

MAKAIO Ukuleles Australia

Sydney, Australia
Reply #3 - Jul 4th, 2009 at 9:45pm

Hello,