HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
RE:tone of uke (Read 5274 times)
kona

Ukulele Fan

RE:tone of uke
Apr 30th, 2010 at 5:29am

I'm a new ukulele builder and I've made a few ukes now.  I have the Hanalima uke construction book and plans.  My problem is that the ukes that I've made have a high pitch to them, and I was wondering if anybody could suggest a way to lower that pitch. I've used different kinds of wood and followed the manual. What changes the tone of an uke?

Paul

IP Logged

Don_Orgeman
Big Uke

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Minnesota
Re: RE:tone of uke
Reply #1 - May 3rd, 2010 at 4:30am

Paul:

I'm not sure what the problem is.  If you have strung the ukulele with high G strings the lowest bass note you have is the C.  There isn't much bass to drive lower tones.  You could change out your strings for a low G set (or just buy a single low G string) which will give you some added bass and this may sound a lot better to you.  I like the low G strings lots better than high G.

I would also suggest that you give Aquila strings a try if you are not already using them.

If the problem is that your ukulele is coming out as a instrument that emphasized the trebble too much, that is a different problem.  I assume that you have thinned the edges of the top as per the Hana Lima book.  That should free up the top to give you a balanced tone.  A spruce top will give you a more mellow sound and may give you the balance you are looking for.

Don

IP Logged

sailor tim

Ukulele Fan

Reply #2 - Feb 5th, 2011 at 7:57pm

try walnut or redwood for your soundboard, i have had good luck getting a lower quality with these woods, adjusting your bass and trebble tonebars can help a little also,  i was also told but have not tried it myself to drop your sound hole a half inch closer to your lower bout and even not using the middle fan brace.

IP Logged

unkabob
Big Uke

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Reply #3 - Feb 7th, 2011 at 7:50pm